Skip Navigation

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum

View the new Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum document.

The document can be viewed at  Foundation Years (opens in a new window).

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes.

The EYFS is divided into two documents which include

  • Development Matters 2012 in the Early Years Foundation Stage  - learning and development
  • Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage 2012  - welfare requirements

It is based on a principled approach and split into four themes:

Theme: A Unique Child

Principle: Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Theme: Positive Relationships

Principle: Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Theme: Enabling Environments

Principle:Children learn and develop well in enabled environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.

Theme: Learning and Development

Principle:Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in the early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Powered by GOSS iCM
Feedback Form